Cars and Innovation with Robert Eppley ’19

Robert Eppley is a Junior from Oakland, CA studying Biology and Political Science at Swarthmore College.  He is also an athlete for indoor and outdoor track and field as well as the treasurer for Swarthmore’s Marksmanship Club.

How has your concept of leadership changed over time?
As the youngest of three, I was not used to being in a position of leadership, and wasn’t particularly excited about holding any leadership positions until high school. This changed as I became a trainer at Amigos De Las Americas and captain of my track and soccer teams in high school. Since then, my role as a leader in numerous scenarios has led to some of my strongest friendships and most memorable experiences. I want to continue this trend with the CIL!

What role has innovation played in your life?
As a member of a generation surrounded by constant innovation, and one that grew up in Northern California, I am used to readily adapting to rapidly changing technologies and being encouraged to create innovative solutions to both common and complex situations. Innovation has led me to my two strongest current interests: automotive journalism and startup business development.

What are you most looking forward to for the coming school year?
I can’t wait to devote time to work with the CIL in the coming semester. On a very different note, I am very excited about my independent study in photography that I will be doing this semester in North Philadelphia.

Leave a comment